top of page
  • Szerző képeMoHa

AZ ÚJ LEKTORUNK, ALDEN


Have you ever been to Hungary before?

Yes! I was on a programme called Reconnect Hungary back in 2017 and I went to Budapest and Pécs.

What was your first impression of Hungary?

Well, I really liked the food and I thought that Budapest was a fascinating city, and I had an overall good impression of the country.

Whats’s your favourite Hungarian dish?

Gulyás leves.

So you had been teaching previously in the Czech Republic. What are some major differences between the schools in the Czech Republic and Hungary?

Well, I love the musical transitions between classes here in Hungary, it’s very nice. The students in the Czech Republic have to wear flip flops or slippers when they enter the actual building. So I would say that here in Hungary students have more of a sense of caring about their national history.

What would you be if you couldn’t be a teacher?

If I couldn’t be a teacher I’d probably do something involved with music or I’d work in a museum.

And your family is Hungarian right?

Yes, that’s correct.

Were your parents born here?

So, my mother was born in the US and my dad was born in France, but he eventually moved to the US when he was very little.

But they’re both Hungarians?

Yes! Because all 4 of my grandparents were Hungarians.

And can they speak Hungarian?

Yes, everyone in my family can except sadly me and few of my cousins.

Why do you want to learn Hungarian?

I want to learn the language so that I can engage with the community of Kisújszállás more, and also because I would like to become a citizen at some point. A dual citizen of Hungary and the United States.


Is it a cool thing that you can say that you’re not „fully American” but you’re from a minor country?

Well it’s a nice thing to have because if the United States kind of continous on it’s rejectory, I think I would much prefer to live in a place like Hungary than live in a place like the United States.

What are your plans for the next year? Are you gonna stay here or are you gonna go somewhere else to teach?

That is a good question, I have really no idea yet due to the coronavirus and also due to the fact that I’m not entirely sure, it’s possible that I will stay, it’s possible I will go, and study at some sort of graduate school. I’m not exactly sure yet.

And my last question is: do you like pálinka?

Of course! Pálinka is an incredible drink and you know I love that it’s a stable of Hungary, you know it reminds me of family, reminds me of how much I love Hungarian culture.


- BCs -


FORDÍTÁS

Voltál már Magyarországon ezelőtt?

Igen! Részt vettem egy Reconnect Hungary nevű programon még 2017-ben, Budapesten és Pécsen voltam.

Mi volt az első benyomásod Magyarországgal kapcsolatban?

Nagyon ízlettek az ételek és lenyűgöző városnak tartom Budapestet, összességében már elsőre is tetszett az ország.

Mi a kedvenc magyar ételed?

Gulyás leves.

Ezelőtt Csehországban tanítottál. Mik a legnagyobb különbségek egy magyar, és egy cseh iskola között?

Tetszik az órák között szóló zene, nagyon kellemes. Csehországban a tanulóknak át kell váltaniuk a cipőjüket egy flip flopra vagy mamuszra amikor belépnek az iskola épületébe. Szerintem itt Magyarországon a diákok sokkal jobban törődnek a saját nemzetük történelmével.

Ha nem lehetnél tanár, mi lennél?

Ha nem lehetnék tanár valami zenével kapcsolatossal foglalkoznék, vagy múzeumban dolgoznék.

A családod az magyar igaz?

Így van.

A szüleid itt születtek Magyarországon?

Anyukám az Egyesült Államokban született apukám pedig Franciaországban, de kiskorában átköltözek az Államokba.

És beszélnek magyarul?

Igen, a családban mindenki beszél kivéve sajnos engem és néhány unokatesómat.

Miért szeretnél megtanulni magyarul?

Azért mert aktívabb tagja lehetek a kisúji közösségnek, és egy ponton szeretnék állampolgár lenni. Magyar-amerikai kettős állampolgár.

Ez egy jó dolog hogy azt tudod mondani hogy nem vagy „teljesen amerikai” hanem egy kis országból származol?

Jó dolog hogy van ez számomra, mert ha az Egyesült Államok továbbra is ilyen elutasító lesz, szívesebben élnék egy ilyen helyen mint Magyarország, mint az Egyesült Államokban.

Mik a terveid jövő évre? Itt maradsz, vagy elmész máshova tanítani?

Jó kérdés, a koronavírus miatt még nem tudom, és amiatt, hogy nem vagyok egészen biztos, lehet hogy megyek, lehet hogy maradok. Valószínű hogy doktorálok, nem vagyok benne biztos.

Az utolsó kérdésem: szereted a pálinkát?

Természetesen! A pálinka egy nagyszerű ital, imádom hogy ilyen alapköve Magyarországnak, emlékeztet a családomra és hogy mennyire szeretem a magyar kultúrát.

111 megtekintés0 hozzászólás
bottom of page